Snap Shots for Sweethearts

14 Dec

What a wonderfully spiffing day I had last Saturday!

Wearing an original 1940’s suit skirt and a cream blouse, hair dressed just so, I put on my coat and gloves, picked up my little 30’s suit case, stepped out into the cold, windy but beautiful morning and headed to London.

I was meeting a rather wonderful and not to mention glamorous photographer by the name of Mai Britt Møller for a rather special photo shoot.

After realising it was just two weeks until Christmas Eve, I decided against battling the traffic and then barrage of Christmas shoppers  all looking for a car parking space.

I always love watching people on public transport especially the look on their faces when they realise I am not dressed quite the same as your average ‘girl on a train’.

Reaching my final destination, Victoria Park, I stepped over to the park map to work out exactly which direction I needed to go in order to reach the Pavillion Cafe, for there, waiting for me were four rather dashing RAF chaps – one of whom would be my ‘fiancée’ for the day!

To my surprise a lady who had been jogging came running over to me and asked to take my picture
‘I am a fashion editor and can’t believe I have found someone in the park looking so elegant and classic!’

Well – a good morning so far! What what!?

As I walked the perimeter of the lake, the sun was in my eyes and I could barely see the impeccably dress vintage group sitting at a table with a cuppa.

 

 

 

 

Once we had said our usual hellos, how do  you do’s  it was time to get on with the business of the day –
an RAF Style engagement shoot.

It was a challenge looking for the perfect location in order to get the perfect engagement shots especially as the park was under a lot of renovation!

 

 

Mai has a wonderful way of working – very friendly, relaxed and open to all ideas and well as directing the shoot to obtain the correct shots.

While snapping away, Mai made a new friend. A lovely old dog had come over to see what was going on!

It was decided that the dog would be used in some of the Lads shots  as the perfect RAF mascot – especially as the dogs name was SKY!!!

After warming up with a rather nice cup of English cha, we had a quick look at the snaps.
Jolly good show was though by all!

There was just enough time to grab some pics by the lake.
Rather spiffing I hope you agree.

DSC_0301

Several ladies enjoying a spot of lunch seemed to think so.
One of them asked Dicky and I what we were doing and why.
She then proceeded to tell her version of events to her friends…

‘These are vintage freaks who go all over the world wearing their granddad’s uniforms taking pictures!’
Never heard re enactment described like that before! Rather!

RAF style engagement RAF style engagement RAF style engagement DSC_0225

Soon it was time for us to part.

While walking with the lads and my ‘fiance’ to the station we came across a London Blue plaque ( I have an obsession with these and try to spot as many as possible! )
This one was particularly apt….

     

It had been a day of firsts for me…

The first engagement shoot I had done.

The first time I had met dearest Mai…



The first shoot I’d done with Dashing Dicky…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first time id worked with the lads…

 

 

…and the very first time I’d had to stop off at Westfields on the way home (quite unintentionally!), two weeks before Christmas, while it was rammed to the rafters with shoppers! Everyone was dressed in their Uggs and designer denim and then there was me! I stood out like a sore thumb – and loved it!

I really hope it is not the last time I do any of these things – well other than the latter!

It was great fun working with Mai – a real pleasure. She is such a good sport – great company and a wonderful photographer as the shots prove!

A wonderful time was had by all and I shall certainly write home about it!

Pip pip!

Whether you are swell sweethearts, newly engaged or looking for someone to photograph the moment you say ‘I do’, Mai is available to capture the essence of your special day.You can view more of Mai’s work by visiting her site www.darhling.com

Leave a Reply

